To drape or not to drape you walls

m00n

Ok so you see a lot of theaters with drapes on the wall. Is this something one would want to do if givin the chance in a home cinema? I have made mention many times now that I have a dedicated room that I can turn into a cinema. I am just wondering if it would produce the best sound acoustics to put drapes on the walls.

Thanks all

------------------

m00nsCinema

the m00n system

FRONTS: RF-7

CENTER: RC-7

SURROUNDS: RS-7

SUB: RSW-12

RECEIVER: Harman Kardon AVR 520

DVD: Toshiba SD 3205 (DD, DTS)

TV: Samsung 27" Flatscreen

COMPUTER: ProMedia 4.1

c>Microsoft XBOXc>

f>

we are planning to do it in the home theater that i am building to keep down echo's and help sound proof. also to give that cinema look

------------------

-justin

SoundWise Support

A technical help site created by me and my fellow Klipschers

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 800-554-7724 ext 5

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150s>

When you start with drape questions, that means it is time to spend some time with Floyd E. Toole's various white papers on acoustics and psychoacoustics. He is the most recommended authority in that area by his peers.

Basically, you do not want a room that so acoustically dead (anechoic) that your ears can't determine the critical first reflection that keys all localized and ambient sound observations that make music flow and speech intelligible. Anechoic chambers are for testing speakers... not enjoying them!

My dedicated HT room has two walls that are mostly windows... a highly reflective acoustics nightmare. Those walls are heavily draped and have an additional sound absorbing valence. That plus careful placement of the speakers has turned a difficult room into an audio impressive one.