Cambridge Soundworks Newton Series

jsmp1225

I'm a recent college graduate looking to upgrade my home theater setup. The amount of money I'm looking to spend is probably laughable to most of you but I want to make the most of what I have. Currently I have an old JVC Pro Logic receiver (no DD or DTS) that runs at 120 watts/channel x 4. I won't even mention the speakers because they're so bad. It has been suggested to me that the first thing I should purchase is new speakers. I have looked at the Newton Series from Cambridge and they seem to be a very good deal. The ones I'm looking at are on the lower end of the spectrum ($70/each for the mains, $40/each for the surrounds, and an 8" powered sub). I currently have a Polk Audio center channel that I have been very happy with. Can anyone offer any suggestions or am I barking up the wrong tree given my limited budget?

From what I understand, Polk and Klipsch don't really march to the same drum so to speak. I would not mix a polk center with a klipsch mini system, which is whwat you will be looking for.

you can get a quintet system minus the sub on the net for pretty cheap, considering what you get. say around $400 for 5 sats. out of your budjet? ok. well some have said they got theirs for like $200 on uBid.

Since you have a polk center, even though this is a Klispch forum, I say go for a Polk system. they are both affordable and sound great. the Polk RM6000 is a full 5.1 system (sub and sats) for only $599. For the price, a great system. rm6000.jpg I debated over getting this or Klipsch ProMedia 5.1's. I had to have promedia's (it is a problem I have hehe) so I went that route. I wanted a budget system, like you.

what IS your budget? $70(?)x2 + 40(?)x2 + sub=?

------------------

-justin

SoundWise Support

A technical help site created by me and my fellow Klipschers

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 800-554-7724 ext 5