I need help tweaking my KSW-12

Max_Durham

I am new to home theater and need some guidance on how to tweak my KSW-12. Basically it sounds muddy when playing music. It sounds better (but not great) with HT. It is connected via the sub-out on the receiver. I am not experienced with HT, so please make any advice clear and simple.

Thank you,

Max

Place the sub out of corners,alongside the front wall.

About 2 feet from the front wall(if possible).

What main speakers do you have? Are your speakers set to small or large? How big is your room?

The KSW line of subs tend to become boomy when placed in corners unless cut below 60Hz.

If you cut your sub at 80Hz(reciever preset)the alongside the fron wall and 1-2 feet away from the back wall should give you as clean bass as you may hope from your KSW.

TheEAR(s) Now theears

TheEAR,

Due to maintaining harmony with my wife, the sub is in the corner behind the tv and component stand. Altering this configuration may be the best solution, but this is unlikely due to the above.

Due to my wife's wish not to overkill our living room with speakers, I had to compromise and go with the Quintet system. In return I will get a bonus room above the garage in the new house and will be able to select accordingly. I viewed this as a reasonable compromise as she takes a lot of pride in the interior appearnce of the house. She has also realized the limits of the Quints when it comes to music. But they are hidden and do very well for HT.

The Quints are set to small. I have experimented with a SC-1 as the center and have had good results by tweaking the inputs. I set the center to large when using the SC-1 and small with the Quint center. Still deciding which to use.

The room is about 14' X 16'.

When you say cut the sub to 80 hz, that would mean on the sub itself, correct? Will this "tighten-up" the sub? What do you mean by the receiver preset?

Due to the speaker placement issue, is a down firing sub the best option?