Please Help - Projector setup question????

j-malotky

Hi

I have a question about screen distance between projector and screen, since this is my first projector setup.

The projector I am considering (Infocus LP530) has a chart showing min / max screen size in relation to projection distance.

Here is the data:

At 16' the min is 9.4' and the max is 11.5'

At 20' the min is 11.8' max is 14.4 feet.

The 16:9 screen I am considering size is 65"H x 116"W diag of 133" just slighly larger than 11'

It appears to me that 16' is approx the best distance for my screen, but here is my question. Since I am calculating a wide screen format, how does this relate to a standard 4:3 TV image. Does it also have the min / max size and if so, will that be too large vertically if I am at a 16' throw?

Or are projectors kind of like modern computer monitors where it remembers your different vidio settings that you can adjust?

Thanks for your input.

JM

have you gone to www.avsforum.com and asked your question? There are tons of poeple there that should be able to help you out if you can't get an answer here.cwm1.gif

I am in the same boat..... Well, will be. I don't have my projector yet but will be getting one in less than a year. I have lots of time to figure all this out. However, at the same time, I need to know this sooner than later because depending on the these same types of issues, will depend on how I setup my room.

Oh and I have a question. Did you know that they have a dedicated Home Theater projector? Its the ScreenPlay

------------------

m00nsCinema to be

the m00n system

FRONTS: RF-7

CENTER: RC-7

SURROUNDS: RS-7

SUB: RSW-12

RECEIVER: Harman Kardon AVR 520

DVD: Toshiba SD 3205 (DD, DTS)

TV: Samsung 27" Flatscreen

COMPUTER: ProMedia 4.1

c>Microsoft XBOXc>

f>

This message has been edited by m00n on 07-20-2002 at 01:03 AM

Ya tell me about it, there is almost too much info there.