Klipsch Sub Dead in the Water?

jasondavie

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to the audio scene and I'm trying to work things out slowly.  I live in Australia (240v electricity supply).

I recently bought a second hand Klipsch Sub 12 for $200 in what looked like almost new condition.  I took a risk and purchased it without hearing it due to it being from the USA and the owner not having a step-down transformer.

I purchased a 1000w Tortech toroidal step-down transformer and hooked it up.

I was pretty happy with the sound for the price of the sub, so I decided to get crazy and and my 3rd sub to the mix.

I'm using an Onkyo RZ710 receiver, which has 2 sub outputs.  In one output I have a Yamaha NS-SW300 sub and out of the other I ran the newly acquired Klipsch.

I watched a YouTube clip from SVS showing how instead of using a splitter from the back of the receiver or even out of a sub's output terminal, you can plug the splitter into the sub's input and then plug the RCA from the receiver into one of the female plugs on the splitter and the 2nd sub into the other female plug.

So I plugged a splitter (Cadence brand whilst I'm waiting for my Audioquest RCA and splitter cables to come in the mail) into the input of the Klipsch and then plugged the RCA from the receiver into one input and my other Yamaha sub (YST SW315) into the other input of the splitter.  The Yamaha's are Aussie bought with 240v and the Klipsch is USA bought running through the step-down transformer.

From that moment onwards the Klipsch stopped producing sound, but the Yamaha worked fine.

There was no noise, bang, smell, smoke or anything to alert of any problem apart from no sound.  The LED on the front of the Klipsch still works.

I've tried using different cables without the splitter straight into the Klipsch.  I've tried the other sub output from the back of the receiver.  All cables and the other 2 subs work fine, but nothing from the Klipsch.