Can someone simplify this?

Skidmarks

I hate to ask this kind of a question, but after reading through my manual for the Yam.RXV1400, dealing with all the dif. kinds of listening surround settings, I am hoping someone can simplify this for me if possible.

Fortunatly I have not recieved my front channels yet(any day now), so I have not yet hooked it all up.I am just getting into the HD/HT technology, so when I read about dolby prologic and DTS and neo6 and THX..5.1 ,7.1 lol

Its just mindboggling trying to compute everthing at once. I am trying to run a 5.1 HT for now.

There are now 3 differnt Dolby Pro Logic decodeings. Dolby Pro Logic which was mainly used for VHS taps. Pro Logic takes 2 channel information and spreads it around the 5 speakers. The front 2 are your major action speakers, center would be dioluge and your back your surround info. The other 2 are basicly the same idea but better done. Dolby Digital and DTS are the same way but instead use real 5.1 channel information is used instead of 2 channel. Each channel gets its own information instead of being made up. Neo6 is somewhat like Dolby Pro Logic. It uses 2 channels to make 6 channels instead of 5. THX is basicly Dolby Digital with a cirtifacation saying it will sound this good. THX IMHO may not be the best way to go as even my speaker set up will blow away most if not all THX certified speakers. One reason they are not is because they go below 80 Hz to well. Sorry, I hope I didn't make things worse. Its one of my major hobbies. But anyway, I hope this helps.

CD

----------------

On 4/5/2004 10:27:00 AM Skidmarks wrote:

I hate to ask this kind of a question, but after reading through my manual for the Yam.RXV1400, dealing with all the dif. kinds of listening surround settings, I am hoping someone can simplify this for me if possible.