Concerned about harshness

BruinsFan

seems to be one of the area reviewers harp on at times is that Klipsch can be too bright or "harsh". A lot of folks in these forums attribute it a break in periods. Others have mention the dynamics of the particular room. There in lies my question.

I have a poor room that I'm trying to make sound good. A few of the issues are potential a lot standing waves and a hardwood floor. My thoughts are this has the potential of making let's say a set of RF5s sound harsh.

Wondering if anyone has thoughts or opinions on this. The wife is planning on putting down some sort of area rug at some point - but hard to tell how that may or may not absorb sound.

yeah - I'm new at this so be kind....