Internet security necessary?

Speedball

Is Internet security really necessary ?

If you think so can you recommend one other than Norton ? Our subscription just ran out and if it's really necessary I will check into another one, hopefully no cost or low cost.

Thank You....!

there are three types of security items.

a. virus software. check with your ISP, many provide free virus software. it is in their best intrest to help you in this area.

b. spyware. microsoft offers free spyware software. there are others, but my take is that microsoft knows their operating systems and the potiential risks to them.

c. traffic management. this is either turning on your desktop firewall feature if you have XP, or enabling packet or stateful inspection on your router.

Speedball,

I am relatively new to the Net but I will tell you it is vital in my experiance. My new software Spy Detector has which has a free download to try out but won't let you delete what it finds unless you buy it, found some 1000 worms and their Register Cleaner found some 400 high risk files, made a beiever out of me! The Msn Spy Sweeper caught only 100 that was free!

Spy Detector and their Register Cleaner is highly recommended

The cost was 40$ for both and worth every penny!

SET12

Thanks for the replies guy's .............

Seems like the Anti-virus thing is pretty important. What kind of crazed idiot would want to cause problems with a virus anyway...[:^)]

EDITED :

Since we use DSL, Yahoo offers a FREE security system so I guess all is good again!

Speedball,

What I was getting at is I trust nothing that is free! Virtally every site I ever visted had some form of worm infestation on my machine or a file that watched where I went!

You can try the free Yahoo! But the Spy Detector may really suprize you!