Tube amp? Or not?

kenratboy

I am getting really confused. I have heard that if you are using horn speakers (any driver) you should use a tube amp, which I consider to be weak and finicky (please correct me if Im wrong.) I am asking who, for what speakers, and why you would want to use a tube amp? What should a person (me) with NO TUBE EXPERIENCE know about a tube amp versus a transistor amp? What quality-level of pre-amp, CD player, etc. should I have before I even consider tubes? At the least, I will be using them with a pair of RB-5IIs or some other speaker with a horn tweeter. Any thoughts, suggestions, or comments are greatly appreciated. I would want to spend between $500-$800 on a stereo preamp.

Ken---I've been using various horns for 30 years with both tube and SS amps and I don't hold with any hard and fast rules about what sounds best, both tubes and SS can sound very good with horns. It's up to you buddy, find an amp that YOU like. Hey, I hear you 4648 is up and running, whaddaya think?

Ken - Post your question in the 2 channel forum and you should get a response from the Zen Master of tubes, Mobile Homeless. He'll give you some great insights into the merits of tubes. I'm a solid state guy myself, but there's a lot to be said for the Klipsch and tube amp combo.

Good luck,

Colin

------------------

My System

Here is what I found: