KP-3002 Tweeter re-orientation

SchmittTrigger

i am planning on getting a pair of KP-3002 and want to mount them on a Church ceiling, to make the installation more visually appealing, I want to mount them side ways, therefore I want to reorient the tweeter side ways to maintain the same orientation as the box.

I have two choices, make a new baffle and put it on top of the old baffle or build a new cabinet.

Either way, the new reworked speakers will not have carpet on them, I will paint the cabinets white to match the ceiling of the sanctuary.

I am looking for tips, I have never done anything like this before and I would like to save time,money and limb if possible.

DrWho has been a great help so far.

http://files.me.com/ronaldrousseau/6y4dk1

I made a scaled drawing to see if it would all fit side ways, here it is.

Hi SchmittTrigger,

CAUTION!! THE 3002 WAS NOT DESIGNED FOR FLYING FROM THE CEILING. [:S]

The 3002 is a great speaker (I own three pair), but the carpeted cabinet was designed for portable PA and is made from OSB without the necessary internal bracing to make it safe to fly from the ceiling. If, for some reason, the cabinet joints fail and pieces fall, folks underneath may be injured . . . .or worse.

You can fabricate a new cabinet, but you really should include the internal metal-angle bracing hardware.

I will strongly suggest you consider talking to Roy about ordering a pair of Ki-362 speakers that are designed for hanging. An additional benefit of the Ki-362 is the rotatable motor board for squawker and tweeter that will allow you to achieve the proper aiming for the space. The crossover components in the Ki-362 are of higher quality than the KP series. You don't want to climb up high and remove a heavy woofer without dropping it to replace a failed crossover component.

I have hung the Ki-362s from the ceiling of a chapel with the appropriate flying hardware and they sound great.