SE amp and LSs

taylor

Hi group, Im considering building a SE amp which will put out about 2-5 watts (depending on the design)and was wondering what other tube SE users think of the sound. I will eventually use a small IC based amp for a Khorn sub but will cross at 60hz or so, so the flea power amp will still be supplying the LS with their full range. I dont try and make my ears bleed anymore so do the tubes really make the horns sing. Ive been using SS amps and inefficient speakers for the past 16 years so I dont have much experience with this setup. Thanks,

Taylor

I personally think the low watt single-ended is the way to go with the vintage Klipsch such as the Khorn, Belle, LaScala, Cornwall.

The key is a good amp, however, as all SET are not created equal. While more inexpensive designs give you a taste of the magic qualities of the single-ended triode, moving to designs with high quality transformers, power supply, and parts really brings it to a higher level. The output iron is VERY important so skimping here brings about less then steller results depending.

I have had a host of tube amps employing various designs on vintage Cornwalls and have generally preferred tubes over solid state 100% of the time (although Class A, Zero Feedback SS is OK). Yes, vintage tubes do VERY well and seem to be a synergistic match as the output iron on some of this gear was really exceptional and not duplicated today unless you go with better companies ie MagneQuest, Electraprint, Sowter, etc. But I have to admit that good SET (with attention paid to system setup and source) is on the next level in many ways.

IF you are into building a kit, I would give serious attention to the Welborne 2A3 as well as the new Consonance Billie 300B/2A3 option. The top end Bottlehead options are popular as well. In addition, there are some interesting circuits and designs floating about online. A good place to browse is the Audio Asylum, more specifically, Tube DIY Asylum.