Diagram of my HT, suggestions?

jwadd21

I'm no expert, but it seems to me that you might want to relocate your left rear surround. Why not put it above the spot where you have the sub drawn in? That way it would have the same general orientation as the right rear surround. If it's a foot or two farther from the couch, you can compensate for that with your receiver.

Wow, that room layout is challenging, jwadd21... and you have done well. Here are a couple of suggestions you might consider.

1. Put the Left WDST Side/Surround on the left wall with the woofer facing the couch. That will allow you to hear the under 2000Hz portion as direct radiated sound. The over 2000Hz portion is expected to be bounced around the room for better ambient sound. (tripod has the right idea... and posted it while I was writing this reply.)

2. With two RS3II's already bouncing ambient sound around the room, I would use an RC3II as a Rear Effects speaker rather than a third RS3II. Putting a full-range speaker in the rear center replaces some of the desired directionality in the rear array scattered by the WDST speakers above 2000Hz... and add a measure of timbre matching to better balance the room sound.

3. Personally, I would modify another RF3II Main to play horizontally (as I did with the KLF-30 in the photo) to provide a smoother, timbre matched sound across the front array. Remember that upwards of 75% of the total sound of a DVD movie comes through the Center speaker... so it is the MOST important place to have a Main! Try your rig with the "Phantom Center" setting and you will hear a better example of how a Center should sound.

4. The SVS should be in the corner equidistant from the walls if possible... that gives you your maximum "free boost" from the walls (about 6 dB). Experiment with wall proximity by testing an inch or so at a time... the difference can be amazing!

May your Klipsch time bring you joy and respite from the work-a-day world. -HornED

------------------