Need help with HT speaker layout

DFing

I am new to home theater and recently purchased the following: RF-3II's, RS-3II's, RC-3II and a KSW-12. I have attached the layout of the room I am putting my HT in and was looking for suggestions on speaker placement. I took a stab at it, but would like to hear what others have to say about the sub and RS-3II placement. If I mount the RS-3II's on the wall, should they be rotated at all to point towards the listening area, or be flush to the wall? How far off the ground should the RS-3II's be? Is there a relationship in the distance the RS-3II's are from the corner and listening area? Should the sub be in the corner or along one of the walls? Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Darren

Darren-

Welcome to the wonderful world of Klipsch!!! Typically, the surround speakers are placed against the wall to each side of the listening position at ear level or higher. If it is placed higher, then you need to angle the speaker towards the listener. This all assumes that you are in a retangular room and the listening positions are not against the wall. Though this is the "norm", departing from it will not in amyway really deter from the HT experience. Your listening area will be a challenge due to its geometry. The drawing of the placement will probably be one of the only options available that is "user friendly" and/or "wife friendly".

As for the KSW-12, i would place it along the side wall. I have found that the KSW-12 is not nearly so "boomy" along the side wall, with respect to using a corner placement.

One other piece of advice, with this room geometry, i would highly recomend getting a SPL (Sound Pressure Level) meter from radio shack and setting all of the speakers to the same SPL level (aka, volume) using the internal test tones on a receiver or a calibration DVD like Avia. This will help get the most enjoyment out of your speakers.

-Dave

------------------

Home Theater