Pros and Cons of power tubes used in parallel per half-wave in a push pull circuit.

KT88

Is it good to connect tubes in parallel? I still have a MC2102 with 2 KT88 per phase, so 8 tubes for two channels in total.. Ok, the output impedance is halved in comparison to use just one tube per half wave. The MC2102 uses the same OTs as the MC275 but with the impedance halved, 2, 4 and 8 ohms instead of 4, 8 and 16 ohms outputs.

With the MC2103 I think the driver tube has to "slave" more, which is a disadvantage, I can't detect any overall sonic advantages. On the contrary, (I know that the circuit of the MC2102 is also different, a cascade circuit without coupling capacitors in this circuit area) can it be that one makes a compromise with parallel tubes? 

I'm a technical layman but wouldn't these tubes have to be perfectly equal which doesn't exist in practice? Is this how you get an "average curve" of the characteristic curve of each of the tubes?
Is the zero crossing of the phase badly affected if both tubes are not exactly the same? All questions assuming that the tubes are best matched and biased as possible.

On the other side I have read about OTL amps, never heard one, which are said to have a very good sound using much more tubes in parallel…

2 hours ago, KT88 said:

Is it good to connect tubes in parallel? I still have a MC2102 with 2 KT88 per phase, so 8 tubes for two channels in total.. Ok, the output impedance is halved in comparison to use just one tube per half wave. The MC2102 uses the same OTs as the MC275 but with the impedance halved, 2, 4 and 8 ohms instead of 4, 8 and 16 ohms outputs.

With the MC2103 I think the driver tube has to "slave" more, which is a disadvantage, I can't detect any overall sonic advantages. On the contrary, (I know that the circuit of the MC2102 is also different, a cascade circuit without coupling capacitors in this circuit area) can it be that one makes a compromise with parallel tubes?