DVD players

Skidmarks

I did not browse through al posts , so forgive me if this topic is a repeat.

I am building a HT for the first time, and I am rather new to much of the technology I am up against. I have started with a set of RF7s and an RC7 for now , due to budget, I cannot purchase surrounds for a few months , but I am hoping my old Yamaha book shelf speakers will do till then for rears.

My main issue is a DVD player, I have no knowledge of them , and would need something that works well with the Samsung DLP.

If you could give me your opinions I would appreciate it.

Thanks

If your Samsung has a DVI interface, then you will definitely want to get a DVI equipped DVD player. There are a few options on the market now in different price ranges, and even more DVI or HDMI (which is DVI compatible) players are scheduled to be released soon. Many of those also feature DVD-A/SACD playback capability, so you might kill a few birds with one shot. Among the best currently available DVD players, I would suggest to look at either Denon DV5900 (has a DVI out, street prices are around $1600) or Pioneer Elite DV59AVi (has a HDMI out, can be purchased around $1000). On the budget side of the spectrum, you have Bravo D1 and i believe Momitsu V880 (I believe both are with DVI interfaces, and their price is around $200-250). However, these cheaper units have many reported bugs, some units seem to work ok out of the box, others have serious issues with their loaders etc. I would advise to go to the AVS forum which has a dedicated DVD player area. You should be able to learn a lot from many of the knowledgable guys there.