300B toobs ?

seti

I was just @ http://www.sophiaelectric.com/ and noticed they had a new 300B meshplate. I have read many favorable reviews of their other 300b tubes and was curious if any forum members here had heard these tubes and if so how do they feel they stack up against other 300b tubes. I've only heard some sovteks and the JJ's which I currently own. The western electrics always get good reviews but the $800 a pair price tag seems abit high. I tend to trust the end user rather than the reviewer but thats just me and so far I have been steered in the right direction.

I wish I knew, but since I'm new to 300Bs myself, all I've ever heard thus far are my new Chinese made Shuguang 300BC graphite anode output tubes (they sound pretty good to me).

An extensive amount of threads have been written on all types of 300Bs on AudioKarma.org audio forums (under "Tubes")...I'm sure you'd find the answers to your Sophia question (and much more) there. Great bunch of audiophiles who love tubes and horns!

By far, the 1st watt (0.005 to 1.000 watt) is the most important with super- sensitive big ole horns. Look for the simplest, naturally distortion free (no negative feedback) amplifier. A direct heated amplifier typically uses 45, 2A3 and 300B tubes.

Many audiophiles prefer the SE amplifier, even though it has relatively high levels of even-order distortion. Most 300B high-end amplifiers are SE. Negative feedback, which can be used to decrease the distortion of an amplifier, is felt by some people to sound inferior. Most SE amps have no feedback.