Heresy's on Ebay

BBrown

Hello All, newbie here, I am looking at a pair of speakers on Ebay called TH-SR IIs, the person selling them states that they are just like the Heresy's but without the H/F driver and crossover portion for the tweeter, is this true? I am wanting a pair of Heresys and if I can upgrade these, it may be a good deal. Any thoughts? http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=3284&item=5736115330&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW

Thanks,

Brian

Hi Brian,

Welcome to the forum. These are interesting looking "Heresy's" I've seen them before on Ebay. You are right that by adding a tweeter and making the appropriate changes to the crossover they could be modified into real Heresy's.

Just a couple of thoughts here, the point at which that would be attractive to you is subjective, depending mostly on the price and how handy you are at doing the mods. I think you can find competent and willing support on this forum to make sure it gets done right. One thing I've learned though, Ebay has such a large audience that gear often sells for more than it is really worth, IMO. and it is very easy for the cost of parts, shipping, time, head aches, and sweat equity to quickly add up to be more costly than buying what you want in the first place. I wouldn't take the sellers word for it that the tweeters can be had for the price he mentions. Just don't know, though these parts also pass through Ebay at less than they'd cost new.

have fun on this adventure.

Straight from Klipsch support when I asked about their similarities and differences.

The TH-SR2 was essentially a Heresy I or II depending on the year, that did not have a tweeter. If the drivers in the cabinet are mounted like