Jazz Question?

pauln

Again I am able to post without signing in... is this happening to anybody else?

OK, this is a complicated question so I'll take it slow and hope no one misunderstands. As a musician I listen carefully to music and especially to the soloists - in particular the rhythmic, harmonic, and melodic relationship of their notes to the rest of the music. I don't have a comprehensive experience with jazz but I have listened to a lot of it for many years. Jazz originated with black Americans and they have fairly dominated since then in serious jazz circles. Others have joined and had some success, but there are many who say it is a valid question to ask if anyone can really play jazz if they are not black. I'm not sure about this, but I do notice a general difference in the playing style of black jazz musicians from others. Just wondering if it is my imagination or if this difference is real, and if so why.

What I notice is that black jazz mucisians like to relate the elements of their solos to upcoming changes in the chord progession - that is, they "lead" the harmonic content melodically. This is opposed to what I hear most other musicians do, which is to either play directly on the change or "lag" behind the change. I may not be explaining this very well, but what I mean is that there is a strong difference in character between playing "up ahead" and playing "on" or "behind" the harmonic structure of the music. Both of these techniques is a form of playing "outside", but the "up ahead" approach has a stronger, and to my ears, a more authentic jazz feel.

So first, has anyone heard this and do you agree that it lends the sense of authenticity?