Subwoofer input question

ss7380

Hey all,

This probably seems like a really stupid question to many of you audiophiles, but I am kind of new to all this. Which is the correct input on the subwoofer(KSW-12) to connect the subwoofer output from the receiver? There are two inputs, one is an LFE and I'm not sure about the other. In addition, I seem to have another problem. I have the complete reference series system (RF3,RC3,etc.) and I am using a Yamaha HTR-5460 receiver. Anyway, with the subwoofer set on auto, many times the subwoofer does not power up when it should be receiving a signal. Obviously, this is a receiver problem. Any ideas? When the subwoofer does come on, the bass is weak, especially for home theater applications. Is this a limitation of the receiver? The receiver I was using is an 8 year old ONKYO and it seems far superior to the YAMAHA in home theater and especially music, but it lacks some of the features of the newer receivers. Is the Yamaha really this weak or is there something wrong with the setup? If it's the Yamaha, is there another receiver you could recommend in the $500 range? Thanks in advance for any help.

I'm not sure about the sub cabling problem as I have a passive sub w/separate amp. Your problem with the sub being weak during movie playback may be because the speaker settings are set to "Large" instead of "Small". I'm not familiar with your receiver but my Denon has a "Speaker Settings" option from the setup menu. It is here where you set your speakers to "Large" or "Small" and tell it whether you have a subwoofer or not. If that's not it, call 1-800-KLIPSCH and talk to Matt or Trey, and hopefully they can help you...

Mike

------------------

Family Room

-----------

Hitachi 43UWX10B HDTV (16:9)

Denon AVR-4800

Acurus A200X3

Panasonic DVD-RP91K (Progressive Scan & DVD-Audio)

Dual CS-5000 Turntable w/Shure V15V-MR

DBX 3bx Series III Range Expander

Mains - Chorus II (Oiled Oak/Acurus Amp)