has anyone driven k-horns or la scalas with a transconductance [constant-current] amp?

m8o

As the title reads, I'm wondering if anyone has driven k-horns or la scalas with a transconductance [constant-current] amp before? Did you try it tri-amp'ed? I plan to do so driving my la Scalas using a modified power-follower circuit driven by my Little Dot III+ amp. Anyone try it before?

I heard transconductance drive works well with horns, so thought I'd give it a try. Ideally, transconductance amps should be connected right to a full range drivers without typical parallel type crossovers designed to be driven by a voltage source amp inbetween the amp and driver. My finish line is using one custom built tube pre + ss constant current power follower per bass, squaker & tweeter, electronically crossed over of course. But trying this route with the three drivers + parallel x-over network driven by one constant-current amp for now.

I have no experience with these amps, but if they are truly ideal current sources, then the crossovers aren't going to function as they should....so apart from bypassing all of the carefully built-in EQ, you're going to blow up them squakers and tweeters.

I have no experience with these amps, but if they are truly ideal current sources, then the crossovers aren't going to function as they should....so apart from bypassing all of the carefully built-in EQ, you're going to blow up them squakers and tweeters.

Mike,

You hit the nail on the head regarding the issue of crossovers. If the application is tri-amped with the filtering done prior to the amp (the way it really should be done), then you will get around the headache.

-Tom