RF-83 Bi-wire versus Bi-amp, any improvement? A mod for active filtering and bi-amping?

etc6849

I'm new to owning a home theater and Klipsch speakers, but I'm pretty technical minded. I recently purchased an Onkyo 905 which is capable of bi-wiring or bi-amping the main speakers. I also noticed on the back of the RF-83's there are binding posts labeled HF and LF...

Are these binding posts on the RF-83 for bi-wiring only or do they truely take the passive crossover inside the speakers out of circuit? I didn't see a switch to take the cross-over out of circuit, so I'm guessing that I can't bi-amp my RF-83's with the onkyo's active crossovers without modifying the circuit to take the cross-over network completely out of the circuit?

I'm basing this logic on the assumption that the high pass filter and a low pass filters will be seperated when I remove the jumpers between the HF and LF binding posts, but still present in the circuit. A schematic for the RF-83 would be helpful, but I'm assuming it's similar to something like this: http://www.padrick.net/LiveSound/Biwiring/Biwiring.htm

Has anyone removed this passive network completely by adding a switch to the back of the speaker that would bypass the internal crossover completely? I'm thinking with a mod like this you could use these binding posts for active bi-amping with the jumper removed. I'm also hoping the impedance wouldn't be too low in this configuration for my 905, but I don't know without a detailed schematic.

I'll consider bi-wiring my RF-83's, but as an electrical engineer, I am very skeptical of seeing any improvement. However, I see much merit to bi-amping if I can use the Onkyo to do active filtering and get rid of the passive filter inside the RF-83's altogether. I could be wrong about all this, so could someone with more audio experience chime in?