Meeting Paul Klipsch

This may not be the appropriate place to post this but I thought some of you might find it interesting.

I graduated from college with a music degree and did my student teaching at Hope, Arkansas, since it was only a 30 minute drive from the college. The person I was interned to was a good personal friend of Paul Klipsch.

I had listened to a pair of Klipschorns several years earlier and was awed by them, however I didn't really learn to appreciate them until my Hope, AR tenure. The older teacher and myself would go out to the Klipsch factory at least once a week and listen to the Klipschorns. I was always amazed at the amount of detail that could be heard from the vinyl recordings (thats all there was at the time) that I had not ever heard after repeated listenings. At that time the group Blood, Sweat, and Tears had come out with their 2nd album. Cymbal decay and background voices could be heard that were not audible on everyday devices.

At that time the "listening room" was the living room of an old house that set on the property close to the original factory (not the one that is there now). On several occasions Mr. Paul Klipsch would see our vehicle and come out to chat.

That was many years ago and a lot of water has gone under the bridge since then. I wish I could remember some of the things that he talked about but unfortunately I can't. I do remember that he had a great sense of humor and never seemed to talk down to us even though we asked some fairly ignorant questions.

Since that time I have always wanted a pair of Klipschorns but could never afford them or justify having them. However recently I came across a pair of 1974 Khorns on Ebay at a price that I couldn't believe. I am currently in the process of refinishing them.