Questions on tube amps

Kriton

As a tube newb, I have a couple of questions that I have researched and not been able to find the easy answers to:

Bias - how often can it shift, how often do I need to check for it, and why do I care?

Is it common to have gain differences between matched mono-blocs, right gain has to be higher than left to sound even? How do you measure right and left gain, can you do this on a meter, or is it more accurate by ear, or with stereo signals am I better off just leaving the controls even and chalking it up to separate channels?

Speakers and tubes - if it more likely for a tube set-up to fry my speakers than an SS set-up? Does anyone have a fool proof method to put fuses in the path between tubes and speakers to avoid a fry, and will it degrade the signal, what kind of fuses do you recommend, and will they work anyways?

Is it possible to minimize the tube hum, or is that just a part of the nostalgia that are tubes? I assume that the hum is only a problem when it actually is coming from the speaker and not just the tubes them selves? Can the hum vibration piss off (feedback?) a turntable that sits too close? How would you isolate the turntable within a reasonable budget?

OK, that is about it for now - any takers?

B

Guest David H

As a tube newb, I have a couple of questions that I have researched and not been able to find the easy answers to:

Bias - how often can it shift, how often do I need to check for it, and why do I care?

Is it common to have gain differences between matched mono-blocs, right gain has to be higher than left to sound even? How do you measure right and left gain, can you do this on a meter, or is it more accurate by ear, or with stereo signals am I better off just leaving the controls even and chalking it up to separate channels?