Klipschorn Questions?

Hello all,

I'm new to this BB, but now that I've finally bought a pair of K-horns, I'll be on daily. Actually, I haven't bought them yet, I'm leaving tonight to pick them up; 10 hour drive each way, ugh! I do have a couple of questions of course. This pair I was told was made in '84. The serial#'s aren't quite consecutive. ****160 & ****162. Any ideas on how they might have been mismatched? Also, prior to buying these I was going to attempt to build my own. I have a pair of new K-33E woofers; should I swap them out? I also have a pair of type AA crossovers, a pair of K55V w/ K400 horns, and K-77 tweets that I will be selling. What crossover was used in '84 and should I change it? Thanks in advance for any info.

I would hold off on making any changes to anything...at least until you get the k-horns and see if they even need anything. Generally, you are better off leaving them stock for the year in which they were made.

A good idea may be to change the crossover networks out to some ALK's, but if your crossovers are good you can hold off on that. AL does great work and he has to charge accordingly...which means that if you are strapped for cash, like me, you may have to make do with the stock crossovers for awhile, if you intend to change them out at all.

If the drivers in the k-horns are in good shape and matched, then I would just leave them alone. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" applies here.

Alot of pairs of k-horns don't have consecutive numbers....sometimes two or three pairs were built up with identical matching veneers...so it didn't make any difference which two ended up being sold as a pair....it was a call made in final assembly/shipping as to how they were shipped as pairs, once they were matched to each other there.

Hope this answers some of your questions for right now.

------------------