The Klipsch Audio Community
Sign in to follow this  
Thundercat710

RSB-11/general subwoofer questions

Greetings to all,

I'm not experienced enough with home theater setups to know what my expectations should be, so I would like some other people's input. I recently hooked this system up in our modestly-sized living room and fired away with movie explosions and awesome music, and the subwoofer sounded...WEAK. I oriented it a couple different positions without much difference noted. I mean, I could tell that it was on, and when I turned up the subwoofer volume on the remote it did get a bit more pronounced, but still. It wasn't at all what I was hoping it would sound like. The soundbar itself sounded good to me, just the subwoofer seemed questionable. 

So, a few questions:

1. People at my work said it sounded like the subwoofer was malfunctioning - "it should be providing way more oomph". Could that be the case? Seems to me like it would have obvious signs of malfunctioning if that were the case, but I'm not sure.

2. How much beefier does the R-10SWi sound compared to the 8" sub that comes bundled in the RSB-x series?

3. Can't I just get a Klipsch soundbar without a subwoofer bundled in and get a R-10SWi to pair along with it? 

Thanks for all your help,

Mike D.

Edited by Thundercat710

Asking an 8 inch woofer to perform the full duties of a subwoofer is a tall order.  They typically don't have the capability to achieve what you're looking for.

Depending on the sound bar you may be able to add an upgraded subwoofer.  However, long story short, my best friend bought a Klipsch RSB-3 (I think?) on black Friday.  I believe it is the only soundbar Klipsch makes without a subwoofer.  He ended up returning it because he said it really didn't sound much better than the speakers in the new tv he bought the same day.  I don't know if it even had  the option to add a subwoofer.