Audio System Noise

I know this forum is not necessarily about car audio, but I wanted to post a question here in hopes that some of the knowledgeable people could give me some advice. Im an electrical engineer at Cornell University, and have installed the audio system in my car. I am using a pioneer head unit which drives boston acoustic 5 inch-ers in the front, and pioneer 6 by 9s in the back. My head unit has 3 sets of preouts, a front, a rear, and a sub output (200hz, I believe). I am using the head unit to feed a signal to a full range Rockford fosgate 100x2 (into 4 ohm) amp. The RF amp drives a pioneer 12 sub in a sealed oak enclosure that I made for it. My problem is that I am picking up a whine (alternator, I think) in the signal line from the head unit to the amp in the rear of the car (Isuzu Rodeo). Heres the list of scenarios that I have worked through to try to fix the problem:

$$ First off, everything works pristinely when the car is not on, and is just in accessory mode. No alternator running to make noise.

$$ The whine varies with engine speed. I think this narrows the whine to alternator, not ignition noise or anything like that.

$$ For a power wire, I am using unshielded 6 gauge braided copper. I run the wire the length of the car, from the battery, through the fire wall, to the back to the amp. I know this is one of the causes of the problem, as the long straight wire essentially acts like a giant antenna, picking up electromagnetic signals from various components in the car (ie. the alternator)

$$ For the line level rca cable, I have used both shielded and unshielded cable. More is outlined on this below