Newbie with some questions

Abuzah

Hey fellas! I'm very new to home audio, and have a couple quick questions. I just purchased a pair of SB-3's, and was curious about a couple things. First, what are the negatives to putting the speaker say 5 inches from the wall versus the recommended? Decrease in sound quality? Any potential damage to the speaker? Second, it is stated that they have 8" woofers. Measuring mine, they only appear around 6.5-7". Is this normal, or did I get some freak speakers? If it's normal, why is it stated at 8"? Third, is it best to let the amp and speakers warm up a few minutes before really turning it up? Or is it alright to push it immediatly when you turn it on? Thanks so much!

No potential damage to the speakers whatsoever. The 8" woofers refer to the outer frame diameter of the basket, and not the actual cone size. I don't really know why, but that is how the industry measures them. Just measure any woofer or midrange from any brand, any you will find this to be true. A good starting point is to place them 12-18 inches from a rear wall and then experiment with toe-in and such. Also, if your seating distance is 8-10 feet, try setting them 8-10 feet apart as a starter. IMHO, warming up a speaker and amplifier is pretty pointless, unless you are going to do some critical listening.

Warming up amps is not necessarily important per se'. 5 minutes should be enoungh. Some amps don't sound their absolute best until they've been on for 1/2 hour or even a couple of hours....depends on the amp. Tube amps seem to take longer than SS.

If the amps are cold....such as brought in from the outside (COLD), they should be left to sit for a while until they get up to room temperature. Make sure any condensation has evaporated.