RB-75 w/ sub or RF-35 w/o sub?

JamesDL

I am new to hi fi systems, and have spent the past few months researching speakers for my first system. I have decided on Klipsch but am unsure as to which model would be best for the money. For the receiver I am between the H/K 525 and Denon 3803. This system will be almost entirely for music, except for the occasional movie, maybe 2-4 movies per month. However, I definitely want a subwoofer and surrounds eventually, but to start I am just getting 2 mains, and maybe the subwoofer. Which is why I posted in the 2 channel forum. My question is, which would sound better, the RB-75 with a good sub (SVS PC+) or the RF-35 with no sub for now?

I've listened to the RB-35 and didn't like the lack of base, but thought the sound was good. I listened to the RF-35 but not side by side and liked them too. I have heard that bookshelves have better imaging than floorstanders, and I feel like the bigger tweeter in the RB-75 would make clearer highs than the RF-35 or RB-35, so with the subwoofer, a better overall presentation.

Would this be the case? Or am I better off with floorstanders? I have a big room approx 20x20 (I haven't actaully seen my new apartment yet, despite having already paid 3 months rent on it). However, wall mounting the bookshelves would still be nice to save space.

Anyway, in the back of my mind I believe I will be very happy with whatever I end up with, its just that as soon as I make up my mind, new questions start coming into the equation... I just need some guidance so I can have enough confidence to make a purchase :)

Thanks in advance... I've been reading this BB for a while and I know you guys are very helpful.

----------------

On 7/29/2003 2:28:40 PM JamesDL wrote: