Magnetically shielded against LCD and amp?

ccsakura

Hi there everyone it's my first time to come into the technical forum(kept wondering around Home Theater section previous time) 9.gif . Will the speakers which are not magnetically shielded affect the LCD and reciever or not??? I was wondering about this for long time because the magnetic was mainly dealing with the machines that rely on magnetic field(like CRT's tube). Sorry kinda stupid in physics and mechanics 14.gif . Thanks in advance 9.gif

Unshielded speakers will have no effect on either the receiver or an LCD screen. As you mentioned conventional TV's use magnetic fields in their deflection circuits,( ie. the circuitry that steers the electron beams within the picture tube which cause the phosphorescent pixels to light up an create an image). This circuitry's magnetic fields can interact with the magnetic field radiated by a speaker and create distortion. LCD display technology does not utilise magnetic fields and therefore LCDs are not effected.

I am a computer technician and on occasion have installed LCD monitors for users whose conventional monitors displayed serious video disortion. In one case the cause was an elevator motor.

Initially we were at a loss because we got complaint calls and one or another of us would go the users' workstations and could find no problem let alone a cause. One day one of my collegues rode the elevator up to that floor while I was checking out the ongoing complaint. I had as usual not seen anything out of the ordinary and asked him to come take a look. About 20 seconds before he arrived at my position the monitor in front of me began fluttering and distorting. It was at that point that we figured out that the elevator was the culprit. The offending elevator motor was powering one of the six elevators that stopped on that floor and was the car closest to the work area whose workers were being effected.