Custom-1 vs Custom-2 Comparison

Stocklone

This is not a real in-depth review or anything. I bought the Custom-1's and wasn't quite happy with them in terms of bass. So I bought the Custom-2's. For about a week I had both of them. Anyways, I did a blind study where I had my wife hand me a set of headphones while I had my eyes closed. I then listened to a song on each pair of headphones. After doing a song I would write which headphone I thought sounded better. I did this for five songs (all 192 or above mp3's on my mp3 player with no EQ enhancements). I tried to do a variety of songs so I could get an overall performance of the headphones. Please note that I am not an expert by any means.

The results ended up as this: I picked the custom 2's every song. I can't tell you exactly why but they sounded fuller and more live. I could pick out individual sounds in the songs better I think. The bass response was also better (less muddled) on songs that featured low bass.

So I am now returning my Custom-1's and keeping my Custom-2's. It wasn't like OMG the 2's are so much better because the 1's are also very good. But if you buy the 2's I think the extra money is worth it. There is a difference.

• 4 weeks later...

The Custom 2's also have dual armatures. While the armatures are the same having 2 means they don't have to work as hard. I forget how Professor Thump said armatures work differently from speakers (or maybe pretty much the same) but 2 armatures are going to give better deeper bass and more effortlessly than a single armature. I think each armature may also be loaded or the housing tuned to optimize one for the highs and the other for the bass.

Hi Ben,