I need help from the smart kids..........

speedbump

Hello all,

I am in the process of designing my own subwoofer from the ground up, with the exception of building my own driver. I am building a Class D switching amplifier based on the National Semiconductor LM4651 & LM4652 Overture design. This should allow me to push approximately 125W RMS continuous into a 4 ohm load.

I have looked at several drivers, including the Shiva Mark II, The Dayton Titanic, The Dayton Titanic II, and the Peerless SWR308. After plugging in the Thiele Small parameters (most of them anyway), It looks as though I am going to use the Dayton Titanic 1200. It seems to perform the best given my amplifier size, but requires a larger enclosure than the other drivers do.

Here's the rub. I have very little experience with the software (WinISD) I am using to get enclosure size, port width and length, MaxSPL, Etcetera....and I would love it if one of you more experienced SW builders could verify my data.

For the Dayton Titanic 1200 Subwoofer my data is as follows.

QTS = .41

QMS = 8.23

QES = .43

VAS = 280.2 liters

XMAX = .014 meters

FS = 16.26 Hz

RE = 3.66 Ohms

LE = 1.96

Z = 4 Ohms

SPL = 90dB

PE = 350 Watts

BL = 9.47

DIA = .24 meters

SD = .046 square meters

I would be using an enclosure with a volume of approximately 8 cubic feet, with 2 4" ports with a length of 22" each.

This gives me a theoretical -3db point of approximately 16 Hz and a max SPL of 111db at 125 W/1 m.

Does this sound right? I would use a larger amp, but I am building this one as an engineering project for school, so I may as well use it for now.

Enclosure would be made of 3/4" MDF, ports would be PVC.

Any help you could provide is greatly appreciated. Alternate driver selections for higher SPL and smaller enclosure size are also welcome.

Thanks,

Speed

------------------

Klipsch Chorus I Mains

Klipsch Academy Center

Klipsch Forte II surrounds

Marantz SR19EX Receiver

Yamaha 5 CD Changer