Dynacos & Scalas?

philipbarrett

Firstly, greetings from a newbie.

I have a pair of La Scalas soon to go under the Crites knife (new crossovers & tweeter), however, as well as cleaning up the top end I would like a little mo' bass out of them, something I feel my homebrewed SE amp is lacking in. My household's musical tastes range from Classical to Screamo (I have teenagers) and all points in between!

My reasearch (including extensive searching of these forums) has led me towards the Dynaco particularly as there seems to be a healthy market for kits & services for these amps. My question is, for what I am looking for would I be better off with a pair of Monoblock IIIs or Ivs or an ST-70?

Thanks in advance for any help.

I have some experience with Dynaco ST-70's (stock, old, not rebuilt) and a pair of MKIII's lightly restored by NOSValves on La Scala I's.

I've always loved the sound of ST-70's when I first turn them on, but after a while I find they leave me unimpressed. BUT, of the 4 ST-70's I've had over the years, none of them were rebuilt when I used them, and a couple I probably had no business plugging into the wall, let alone hooking up to LS's! But they are really cool amplifiers that work well with horns and there is a myriad of choices out there for rebuilds.

My MKIII's were not upgraded per se, but just cleaned, with a few parts replaced, and a couple of new tubes, so basically a stock sound. They generally sound a little dull on the highs. On Cornwalls I found them to be flabby with bass, on LS's much better, very warm and musical. Power output seems to be a very good match to the LS's efficiency. I forget now what he suggested, but Craig said that there was something he could do that would really improve the bass of the amps, but I decided not to do that option due to cost.