Active Crossovers

Rudy81

Ever since I listened to some Jubilees with active crossovers, I have been trying to learn about this process. I have been toying with the idea of actively filtering my Khorns just to evaluate the differences between active and passive crossovers. I currently have the ALK universals with JBL 2470 drivers on ALK Trachorns and APT 150 tweeters.

I have looked at the EV DX38 which seems to be a favorite processor around here, but for three way filtering it seems a cost prohibitive experiment. I have been studying the EV DC-ONE which is 2 in and 6 out. I am also studying amplification for the project. Since I am rather ignorant on the subject, I am here to ask the Oracle's for help.

Has anyone tried the EV DC-ONE and will it work for this application?
What amps would you guys recommend for the project?
Do any of you use capacitors to protect your drivers from the amps? (Read that one somewhere)
Any tips on how to best do this?
Do you think it is worth the effort, particularly if you have already done this.
Does time alignment make a big difference? (Not trying to start a war, just trying to educate myself)

I'd love input on this idea, pro and cons etc. I'm starting with my Khorns since I know how they sound with passive networks. Eventually, I may go Jubilee or Jamboree with the process.

EDIT: This thread has become rather long, but has a tremendous amount of information on active filtering for the novice. It has occassionally gone off into other tangents when I needed help with side issues so I will come back now and then and create a sort of index so you don't have to get bogged down with other issues.

Begin with next post for active crossover discussion.

Go here for discussion on protecting drivers by using capacitors between the driver and the amp : http://forums.klipsch.com/forums/t/128607.aspx?PageIndex=10