Center channel "match" for Cornwall Mains

Stu Pidass

I'm a rookie with this home theatre stuff. My setup consists of heritage Cornwalls for mains and paradigm cinema series surrounds. Currently I'm simply using the prologic decoder that's built into my 53' Hitachi RPTV. I'm also utilizing the TV itself as the center channel (it has 60 watts of power). The TV also powers the surround speakers which are hooked directly to the back of the TV.

The TV's audio out RCA jacks run to my existing integrated 2 channel amplifier which allows me to seperately control the volume of the main speakers (Cornwalls). A little tweaking so the centre is not overpowered by the mains and the system is pretty impressive (That is until I heard a 5.1 system).

After hearing a true 5.1 setup I have become obsessed with upgrading my home theatre. It was a Harmon Cardon AVR300 5.1 receiver with B&W speakers all around including a powered subwoofer. Now I have no doubt that my Cornwalls are the base to blow away this B & W system but I just can't go out and spend thousands of dollars. Instead I'll take it one step at a time. Starting with a center channel.

Now I realize this is a Klipsch BB and I myself am the proud long time owner of heritage Cornwalls BUT is it possible that another brand might be as good or evan a (dare I say) better match for my mains?

Any suggestions on what to look for when "matching" the center channel? Is sensitivity important or can this somehow be balanced with seperate volume controls for each channel? (I know next to nothing about the receivers and how they power each channel). The Energy AC300 has some spectacular reviews but it may not, for whatever reason, "match" my Cornwalls. If not, why? If Klipsch is "the way" then which one?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.