Side-by-side: Should La Scalas Sound Better than Klipschorns?

Rhetor

This is not a poll, but a question to see if I have a speaker problem or just bad taste!

While not new to Klipsch, I am new to vintage Klipsch.

I recently picked up a pair of '76 La Scalas and then a pair of '79 K-horns.

The La Scalas came with a blown tweeter and the same sounding like it had a blanket n it. The other speaker sounded like the tweeter crackeled at little. Opened the blown tweeter and diaphragm crumbled (would ruin even a new diaphragm, I knew). So, I came under the impression there is no exact diaphram match for the K-77 La Scalas, but that Crites had a diahram and a work around with a substitute horn, but still there existed no excellent exact replacement for the K-77 La Scala diaphram. So, Instead of just new 3rd party diaphragms (or Bob's intermediate workaround, I ordered and installed his CT125s . . . Wonderful, and made me very happy, but still a blanket over the sound of one. Recapped the AAs with Bob's kit . . . Amazing! Even the bass bins came alive, with acceptable. 2 channel thump! Then I got the K-horns, thinking, "If the La Scalas sound this great in two chanel, these K-horns are going to blow my ears off! No tweeter, mid, or woofer problem--all original, but just did not sound right, especially the highs and very weak thump. Mids on both were fine. Recapped the K-horns AAs with another Crites kit. Amazing, but still surprised at how little bass came out, but I guess that is what a sub is for.