small apartment subwoofer

lne937s

I want to buy a subwoofer, but I live in a small apartment in Brooklyn. I do not need it to be loud and would not even be able to use it a high volume.

I just want something to fill out the bottom octave for music.

Here's what I do want:

Relatively cheap

Good Xover

Plays low

Tight

relatively small

no distortion

fast- it has to keep up with my mains

any suggestions?

Larry

might be, no will be too expensive, but REL makes some EXCELLENT small subs.

if you are somewhat of a handy man, i can lead you to some sites that teach you how to build your own sub, will cost very little to build but will give you very expensive sounding sound. if you ar ein an apartment, maybe you can use a friends house to build them?

------------------

-justin

SoundWise Support

A technical help site created by me and my fellow Klipschers

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 800-554-7724 ext 5

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150s>

Larry,

Some great compact subs

REL Q200E

Sunfire Mark IV

Carver Knight Shadow

Velodyne HGS10

Velodyne SPL800 and 1000

And not to forget the M&K VX100 and MX700

If you want the maximum value for your dollar get the Carver Knight Shadow,it gives all the much more expensive competition a kick in the woofer. Wink.gif

Seriously the Carver Knight Shadow does all this...the second choice would be the VX100.The VX100 has less deep bass output and matches better with small sat speakers.Both are on the must listen/compare list.

Relatively cheap

Good Xover

Plays low

Tight

relatively small

no distortion

fast- it has to keep up with my mains

And even can output 108dB at 31.5Hz!All this from a 11" cube!And priced under $600 in many stores.