Getting the most out of Denon 3802 and RF3-II

NYRAGE

I just bought a Denon 3802 receiver and two Klipsch RF3-II speakers. I'm basically an audio equipment novice and I'm wondering what I need to do to in order to get the most of this system as a basic 2 channel system. Eventually I will be moving into building a surround system.

For now, should I buy an amp? Equalizer? Sub? Any settings that you like? I used Monster Cable and a couple of digital optic cables. I wasn't too crazy about using pins when connecting the speakers. There isn't a lot of room in the back of the Denon.

Thanks.

Nyrage,

I think you might get a few different opinions on what to add first to get the most out of your system. What you actually do will likely be dependant on how much budget you have. Some will argue that you will get much more out of your RF-3II's with quality amplification, which can cost quite a bit of money. If you are on a tight budget, I think I would start seriously considering adding a subwoofer first, then add your other surround speakers before looking at amplication, high-end speaker wire and/or interconnects.

-PB

My budget is a little tight after just buying a house and the receiver/speakers. I'm sure I'll wait off until next year for the rear and center speakers.

I'll end up buying a sub and amp next more than likely.

By the way, I need to replace my cd player. I've heard that the Denon 370 has great sound, but a lot of people end up having problems with it. Are there any decent cd players around $300?

Thanks

As speakers go - I would suggest getting the matching center channel first, because that is what is going to "ground the sound" for home theater. Next, If you are a music guy - I would carefully choose the sub...or do sub upgrades slowly.

Then lastly the surrounds. Alot of the DVDs still don't have squat for surround effects..so what if you miss one "corner to corner swooosh"?

BTW - If you can ever interpret the Denon manual, let us all Know...LOL...