Antennae connection?

tripod

Okay everyone, you've solved all my previous technical difficulties, so here's another.

I live in a valley, 60 miles from Philadelphia, which is where the stations I like originate from. As such, I get absolutely zero radio reception, even with a large roof-mounted antennae. My cable TV company offers some sort of radio connection for several dollars a month, but I'm already paying a bundled rate of $113 and am morally opposed to giving them any more.

My receiver has an F-type connector on the back. A while back I got the bright idea to use the actual cable wiring as a massive antennae. Im no electrical engineer, but I did realize there was some risk, so I split the cable line with a Y adaptor and then ran it through a line conditioner. I then put an F-type adaptor on the end of the coaxial cable and plugged it right in as the antennae. My receiver didnt fry, and I could suddenly hear all the Philadelphia stations (but NOT the local ones, strangely enough). All was fine and good for a year. Then I upgraded to my current bundle of cable modem, digital cable, and phone service. I was at work while the technician converted our system, but my wife called me to say that he had received a significant shock when temporarily removing my antennae connection. It was enough of a shock that he had to sit down and collect himself for a while. Luckily he was fine, but I decided if there was enough juice in there to hurt him, I shouldnt put it back on. Remember of course that this was all told to me second hand, so maybe it was some other cable that shocked him, but probably not.

Anyway, all this for a simple question. Anyone know how I can safely connect to the cable line for radio reception?

This message has been edited by tripod on 08-27-2002 at 02:57 PM