The ACA meeting at my house....

maxg

Warning - this post may come across as something of an ego trip. Apologies for that - I am feeling rather proud right now!!

Well its all done and dusted now. They came, they listened, they made positive comments and constructive critisms, they ate, they drank and their comments got better and better as the booze flowed.

Overall the reactions were a riot. Most had come direct from Tony's house so we ran kinda late finishing at about 1 rather than at the more normal 10 - 11. (I got off lightly it seems - the last people left Tony's house at 3!!)

I am not up to sorting out the pictures and the reports just yet (one hell of a headache as I write).

Headline comments include:

1. 3 people thought the treble response was off. One is of the opinion that the capacitors in the crossover need changing out (an audio consultant by trade). This is something I will investigate.

2. Everyone commented on the balance of the system and how well it all worked together. Several people commented that on paper the system held little or no interest for them but they were so glad they came to see what was possible for such a small investment.

3. No-one could believe how well the little project played, more importantly - no-one thought it worth my time and money to upgrade the TT anytime soon.

4. Arco is absolutely determined to get me to test out his 300B amps despite saying how massively improved the overall sound was.

5. 5 people were totally stunned by the amps I have now (in contrast to Arco - at $600 for a pair of KT88 monoblocks they were of the opinion that it would be difficult to beat the performance for considerably more $$$).

6. 4 people want me to help them choose a sub. Everyone commented on the seemlessness of the integration and they all fell off their chairs when I turned it off.