Re-veneering Khorns

greg928gts

I ordered my veneer for my upcoming project to re-veneer my Khorns. I have a pair of 1981 khorns that came through birch raw, and finished by Mr. L. Cheapo. I purchased 2 sheets, 4' x 8' of sequence matched Rosewood veneer from Tapeease.com. With the edge cutting tool, 2 roller covers, and shipping, the total was about $350.00. I'm planning to do a little custom work to the tops as well. I'll take photos of the project as I go.

Any tips from anyone before I start?

I'm going to strip them down completely, separate the tops, take off the grill cloth, and make custom 2 x 4 stands that hold them at the proper height for working on the fronts, flat in front of me. This way I can walk all the way around to work on them.

Any tips on finishing before I get to that point?

I am a housebuilder and woodworker by trade, so I think I have the skills for this project, but I've never done veneer before. I know enough to have help when I set the veneer! With contact cement, there's no going back!

Greg

Tip 1: Don't think that you have the skills for the project if you have never veneered before. It is a new set of skills. I am sure you can do it successfully the first time out. But there is a learning curve.

Tip 2: Learn everything you can about veneering before starting. If nothing else, get the book "Veneering Simplified" from www.constantines.com and read it before doing anything

Tip 3: Try something smaller and less valuable than your Klipschorns first, even something as simple as a small box. You will get an idea of what is involved and the problems you can encounter.

Tip 4: Make sure you have everything you need before you start. You will need either a J roller or a veneer hammer to prevent bubbles and achieve good adhesion. You may want a veneer saw and other tools, too.

Tip 5: You don't need help setting the veneer. See Tip 2.