The room I am going to model my theater after

m00n

Ok, so I admit it. I love this theater so YES, I am going to make my room look like it. It will not look identical, nor will it be quit as fancy, but it will look very similar. This theater can be found in the January 2003 issue of "Audio Video Interiors"

Anyway...

This room was created by a professional service using various types of pannels. I am not a professional nor do I care to try and figure out how do *EXACTLY* redupe what they did in that area.

How I am going to mimic this room is by creating cloth panels. Think of an artists paint canvas. You know how it has a wood frame with a canvas stretched over it? Well, that's how my panels are going to be.

I know I should go for accoustically transparent material. However, the material I have picked out, I don't know how transparent it will be. I found a material that I like, it's 100% polyester with a nice tight weave. It has just the tinyest bit of sheen to it.

I am hoping that it will not have TOO much of a dramatic affect on the rooms accoustic nature. Hell, my room was never designed or built in the first place to be a theater so how badly could doing what I am going to do to it affect it in a negative way?

Any comments and thoughs on how all this material will accoustically affect the sound is greatly appreciated.

download.asp?mode=download&fileID=26914

post-9291-13819247066912_thumb.jpg

I have seen that site, but I have never really look into it. I may consider something like that.

I had a guy come out about 6 months ago before I tore my theater appart for reconstruction. I told him I was going to have him come back once I was done. I probably will have him come out before I start applying the fabric panels just to get his input. He had indicated some ceiling treatment prior to my reconstruction. He may have a different story now.

I guess it depends on what you are trying to accomplish with your panels. I think your panels will do several things: