Kg-4 Advice/ Love this Forum

rtrott

Hey all:

I am the original owner of a pair of 1987 or 88 kg-4s (black oak) that have seen better days as far as the exterior. I do not know what the condidtion of the drivers are. Is there anyone that can advise me as to where I can go to have these once wonderful speakers tested, replaced if needed and refinished? I would like them to match my new old cornwalls stain color. I am sure that most people on this forum can and have done this stuff themselves, however I am not good with electronics or woodworking. Thanks for any help bringing these great speakers back into the house from the garage. Also, I love this forum as I have been wanting to get advice on this issue for years and now I can!!

rtrott

Just look for tears or holes in the woofers and passive radiator and there rubber mounts. If there are none hook them up and give a listen! If they sound good that is one problem solved. As for the finish, I am guessing you should contact a furniture refinisher? Hope this helps

I beleive the black oak speakers in the KG line use wood veneers that were of lower quality than the stained versions. They made them black so that you can not see the imperfections. As black spekaers, they are perfect, but if you were to strip them and try to stain them with a light stain, you would not be pleased with the results. If anything, have them refinished in balck to update the look.