RF5 or 7's with Outlaw Gear

nu2ht

I am new to this HT stuff and am doing much research on gear. Since I can't demo it, is there anybody out there using the RF5 or 7 with Outlaw gear 950/770? If so, can you give me an idea of the sound quality (ie- is it on the bright side or not)? All comments are appreciated.

Thanks.

I currently use RF5s with an outlaw 950 and Rotel amp. Most of the time people will say that either the amp or the room is producing "bright" sound rather than the pre/pro but I could be wrong.

No, the sound is definately not bright, but nor is it muddy. My single complaint about the 950 is that it seems like it could be a tiny bit quieter, there is a bit more hisssss coming from the horns at idle than I'd like, but this could be due to my Radio Shack interconnects. (Ran out of money) Overall, the 950 is a huge bargain and you're not likely to find anyone with anything bad to say about it.

For the money, the Outlaw's a great amp. Of course, as with any audio gear, the more you put in, the more you get out. Sherbourn is a nice step up at a slightly higher price range. From there, you could step up to Aragon, B&K, or even Crown SS. Each step will be an improvement over the step before.

I don't want to hijack this thread, but I do have some of the same/similar questions as nu2ht, so I thought it would be good to post here, rather than starting another thread.

My current system: RF-7, RS-7, RC-7 and RSW-15 with a Yamaha 5560 receiver. I have heard the B&K Ref 50 with the Ref 200.7 amp and really like the sound. However, the price is just out of range for me right now. The B&K 507 is slightly less and will do about the same thing. (Am I right here?)

The Outlaw setup with their 950 processor and amp can be had for a pretty low price. This is a fairly subjective question, but how much difference would I find between the 50/200.7, the 507 and the Outlaw setup keeping in mind price to value?