Harman Kardon DPR 1001

Euell

I have no experience with that receiver, but I do know that it has digital amps. Panasonic also makes receivers with digital amps. I suspect that more receivers will go fully digital in the future. As for now, the jury is still out on digital amps in receivers.

Bill

I tried that receiver for my Master Bedroom theater and was not overly impressed, so at the suggestion of a friend, I returned it and bought the Panasonic RX 25 for about half the price. The panny's amps are much cleaner IMHO and it is also a bit smaller.

My MBR theater now consists of 46" HDTV, Panasonic RX 25, Klipsch RF15 mains, RCX4 center, RsX5 surrounds and an Energy XL10" sub. This hobby becomes like a sickness and spreads!

Jerry Rappaport

----------------

On 4/5/2004 5:32:45 AM JewishAMerPrince wrote:

I tried that receiver for my Master Bedroom theater and was not overly impressed, so at the suggestion of a friend, I returned it and bought the Panasonic RX 25 for about half the price. The panny's amps are much cleaner IMHO and it is also a bit smaller.

My MBR theater now consists of 46" HDTV, Panasonic RX 25, Klipsch RF15 mains, RCX4 center, RsX5 surrounds and an Energy XL10" sub. This hobby becomes like a sickness and spreads!

Jerry Rappaport

----------------

Jerry -

Vanns is selling the unit for $499 with free shipping http://www.vanns.com/shop/servlet/item/features/538999195?v_c=Shopping

Amazon also sells it for that price (through J&R Music and Computer World) -

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00008EDC9/103-3194405-0936659?v=glance

It's also free shipping outside of NY

You can get a Panny for 1/2 this price?

----------------

On 4/6/2004 2:14:54 PM Euell wrote:

----------------

Euell, I believe the receiver Jerry was referring to is Panasonic SAXR25 which I belive had the MSRP of about $250, and currently can be bought at ebay for around $180.

----------------

On 4/6/2004 3:03:28 PM TauRus wrote:

----------------