Mapletree Ultra 4A Preamp and PS2 Power Supply,...

126mhz

I needed something to use when I send my McIntosh C11 all tube Preamp in for it's forty four year service! It as listed on Audiogon and the guy sellig it was local so I went and looked at it and bought it without even listening to it. I'm using it with a Dynaco ST70 that's been redone and my LaScalas,....Wow!

I'm no expert but I had no idea this little package could make such a difference. I have a feeling that when I get my Mac back I might just sell it on Audiogon. Has anyone else owned or listented to any of Mapletree's gear?

I tried to give you guys a link to their web site but I could not get it to attach.

Regards,

Bill Woodward

Bill, yes the Mapletree is without a doubt a fine bang for buck preamp. Been there done that. Wait until you get the upgrade bug and buy a JM Blueberry or Peach. They're another step in the right direction. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news for your wallet.

My Mapletree pre has the SE "Special Edition" package with Auricap and Blackgate caps. I may try another pre amp for one of my other systems but right now I can't see getting rid of it knowing it's less than a year old and cost be a pinch over four hundred bucks,.... It's just too good for the money I have in this little pair.

Bill Woodward

I had an SE for a year. Sold it a month ago. It was a nice preamp for the money. When you are ready for something better, I'd suggest a JM product. You won't be dissapointed if you like the sound from the Mapltree. I hope you enjoy your Ultra 4A SE. Cheers!

Yes, I bought a SE version a while back from another forummember. It is a great piece and yes if/when you hear so much difference, you want to continue along the road up(grade)wards. 1.gif