Buying HT anywhere but the internet. Why?

BigBusa

I know I'm being a post ***** but ...I'm a Klipsch newbie. Whadda ya expect! It's like having sex for the 1st time. Ya just can't stop talking about it!

Remember your first ...Klipsch experience? cwm35.gif

There is such a huge price difference between various internet HTcompanies and local places like Tweeter on HT components. Why would anyone buy a component locally for $100's more AND pay their states sales tax?

I went to Tweeter yesterday and saw the Denon 2802 for $799 & the 3802 for $1299. These two items can be had new on ebay for $480 and $870 respectively and no 8% sales tax.

------------------

?

This message has been edited by BigBusa on 10-13-2001 at 01:23 PM

One word - WARRANTY

Denon has a strong policy about offering warranty service for any product bought from anyone other then their authorized dealers. If you buy the receiver online from an un-authorized dealer, and the thing goes up in smoke.....you're **** out of luck. But, if you buy that same receiver from your local hi-fi store, and the same thing happens....you can return it and get a new one and also you get a full warranty.

A receiver is the one thing I would buy from a local dealer. When you are spending $2000 on a receiver.....it's worth spending a couple of hundred dollars more to have comfort of mind.

Good Luck

------------------

Klipsch Quartets - fronts

Klipsch Academy - center

Klipsch KG 1.5's - rear surrounds

Klipsch KG .5's - rear side surrounds

SVS 16-46PC subwoofer (very soon)

Denon AVR-4800

Denon POA-5200 THX Amp (fronts)

Sony C-67ES CD Player

JVC 36D201 36" TV

JVC HR-S3600 SVHS Player

JVC XV-M565BK DVD Player

Scientific Atlanta Explorer 2100 Digital Cable box

Playstation 2

Monster Power HTS-2000

Monster Cable M-series Speaker Cable and subwoofer cable

Monster Component, S-Video, and Optical cables

RS HT Gold Interconnects