Good Night and Good Luck

Kriton

I was curious that no one has mentioned this movie...I just had a

chance to see it over the weekend, and I wanted to comment. All

in black and white, no sound track to speak of, just a message.

Being born after the McCarthy era, I have no personal experience of

those times, bu I have had enough history to know a precious little

about those days, the general prevalent fear over communism and nuclear

annihilation and the our prevailing present day attitude toward the

McCarthy inquisitions.

I thought the movie was very well done, very well acted and that it

struck note of timeliness to current affairs (as it was clearly meant

to do); given the fact that most of it was recitation of already

written material from the 50's, I didn't find it too preachy, certainly

not as much as it could have been.. I found myself thinking that

such censorship and potential persecution is unthinkable, but then I

was reminded of where we are headed today, and the parallels are

uncanny to a certain extent. The movie was thought provoking and

engendered a meaningful dialogue in my house, and I hope, on whatever

side you place yourself in our present national crises abroad *and* at

home, that you see this movie and engage in this conversation of

national identity, personal responsibility and integrity, retribution

and redemption.

The movie just kept reminding me of the statement that I have seen

attributed to Benjamin Franklin, which I have to paraphrase:

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary

safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."

Words to live by boys and girls...

K