Large or Small Setting on Receiver?????

Klipsch-daddy

Can anyone please explain how and why this will make a difference in my set up of rf-3's and ksw-12. The sub sounds fine but the rf-3's sound very harsh??

------------------

My HTS:

MAINS: RF-3's

CENTER: KSC-C1

REAR: SS-1's

SUB: KSW-12

TV: TOSHIBA THEATER VIEW 50"

RECEIVER:KENWOOD VR-4080B

DVD: SONY S-360 DVD PLAYER

monster cable interconnects/12 gauge speaker wire

This message has been edited by Klipsch-daddy on 11-13-2001 at 10:44 PM

well. the large speaker setting gives more to the speakers. lower sound and a higher volume level from the source. it ouptuts a larger frequency field to take advantage of large speakers rather than small speakers that can not hit th elow notes and go as loud.

that is basically what my SONY DVD player's maual said on that.

where do you have this setting? DVD Player, receiver, etc...

------------------

-justin

I am an amateur, if it is professional help you want email Amy or call her toll free @ 1-888-554-5665

RF-3's are hash!How long do you have these speakers?

Maybe you were used to mellow speakers,with a very rolled top end.Or the reciever real qualities(faults)are unmasked with the RF-3's.

I would run the RF-3's in large mode and let the RF-3's do what they do best,slam.The twin 8" ceralloy drivers should not be limited by the reciever.Where the RF-3's start leaving the sub should kick in.

Run the RF-3's full range and cut the sub(on the sub itself)around 45Hz.This should give a good balance.

I run my RF-7's,RC-7 and RF-5's all in full range,I love the slam I get from the Klipsches.

TheEAR(s) Now theears

Maybe harsh is a overstatement. The highs in the rf-3's are so loud it makes my ears fill like they are bleeding.!!!!!! I will try the setting on large and set the sub to 45hz. The rf-3s were the last pair my local dealer had. They should be broke in?

------------------

My HTS: