Which Movies to Test My System With?

belial

I just got a new receiver and want to put it through its paces. I notice that sound quality seems to vary quite a bit from movie to movie, and it is hard to tell if it is my setup or the movie...

For instance, on Toy Story and Toy Story 2 the sound is AMAZING, with bass and vocals extremely well defined (now I know why my local Klipsch dealer used it to demo the speaker.

But on some other titles I find that some vocals appear slightly distorted at times and the bass is weak...

Question 1: How to tell which is my system and which is a poor recording? It is hard to believe that a recent 5.1 soundtrack could be poorly recorded in this day and age.

Question 2: Which movies would you use to test a system out?

Thanks for all responses!

here is a link to this topic in the DVD's, Movie's, Music News forum.

http://216.37.9.58/ubb/Forum21/HTML/000054.html

------------------

-justin

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150

I'd say you have a very good system. Room acoustics, speaker placement, and the like may come into play. But that is not the issue of the analysis.

It is bit unrealistic to believe that any reproduction system will make "every" recording sound excellent. In fact there is good reason to believe that the better reproduction systems just make shortcomings of the recordings more obvious.

It is also, I'd think, unrealistic to believe that every movie is mixed with foresight to sound good in your living room, or mine.

The overall problem is recognized in Hollywood, but please consider the number of issues.