Where to place twin subs?

darrylp

Is it necessary for two subs (Velodyne HGS 15) to placed equidistantly from the centre speaker?

Im hoping that I can get away with one being 3 feet closer than the second.

I'd appreciate any comments or experiences from more experienced HT experts.

Thanks very much.

Regards

Darryl

Hi Darryl,

i'm no audio expert but I have had many sub's and speakers to move around so I can tell you that the best placement you will find for your sub's are behind the mains peferably in the corner's of the room. You will not find a better effect than placing a sub in a corner.

With my system I have my sub right behind my entertainment system behind my KG 5.2's. It actually makes it sound like the KG's are putting out the base. the corner will direct the bass nicely. Try it I think you will like it.

Regard's monty

Thanks Monty

I've got my existing sub in the corner and it works great but I can only place my second one 3ft in from the other corner and thus not equidistant from my RC-7.

Im hoping that the difference is not going to be noticeable but unless someones tried a similar configuration I just dont know.

Regards

Darryl

darryl, or u could stack 'em (just be sure to put something between to protect that great piano gloss finish). or side by side. either way i'd put 'em together to reinforce each other.

w/ just one sub i know it takes some experimenting. best method seems to be put both in your listening position then move around listening for where the best low bass. then put 'em both there if you're looking for more output.

------------------

My Home Systems Page